‘Dhoni Gave It To Virat Kohli’


After returning from a back injury, all-rounder Hardik Pandya has been performing brilliantly for the Men in Blue. Under his leadership, Gujarat Titans won the IPL trophy. In the absence of senior players, Pandya led the Indian team in Ireland and New Zealand and helped India win the series on both occasions. Last week India outplayed Sri Lanka in the three-match T20I series under Pandya’s captaincy.

The debate has started now if India should hand over the captaincy to Hardik Pandya in the T20Is. Former India cricketer Ajay Jadeja feels Rohit should give the captaincy to Pandya as MS Dhoni did to Virat Kohli.

“He (Pandya) used Umran well, he’s done all the right things. The only thing, when I see him again I’ll say just because a week ago you were not captain and a week later you are doesn’t mean you don’t have to run as fast as you were running or fielding. Or being as athletic as you were, you as a player should not go down. And just don’t worry about the team alone, because you as a champion player is more important than leading.

“At the moment we’ve still got Rohit Sharma, who has been leading and his records show that he is the best captain. There is never a king waiting, all kings had to grab their place. Because waiting means it’s the right of a king who he gives it to. Like Mahendra Singh Dhoni gave it to Virat Kohli, it wasn’t the board or selectors. Mahendra Singh Dhoni who picked Virat Kohli and said I think you should take it on from here. I feel that’s how it should be,” noted Jadeja during an interaction on Cricbuzz.


Rohit Sharma-led Indian cricket team will take on Sri Lanka in a three-match ODI series, starting from January 10. The hosts have a strong record in the 50-overs format on home soil but they can’t take Sri Lankan players lightly who have a solid group of match-winners in their team. 


India’s ODI squad: Rohit Sharma (C), Hardik Pandya (VC), Virat Kohli, Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (WK), Ishan Kishan (WK), Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umran Malik, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah.

Sri Lanka’s ODI squad: Pathum Nissanka, Avishka Fernando, Ashen Bandara, Nuwanidu Fernando, Dasun Shanaka (c), Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Chamika Karunaratne, Wanindu Hasaranga, Kusal Mendis (wk), Sadeera Samarawickrama, Maheesh Theekshana, Kasun Rajitha, Dilshan Madushanka, Dunith Wellalage, Lahiru Kumara, Jeffrey Vandersay, Pramod Madushan

#Dhoni #Gave #Virat #Kohli



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here