‘He Is Once In A Century Batter’


Indian cricket have given a lot of great batters to the cricketing world over the past few years. Be it Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid, or Virat Kohli, the world has seen it all. And currently, Suryakumar Yadav has been scripting history with his extraordinary batting. Former India legend Kapil Dev spoke about the same and considered Surya as a ‘once in a century’ cricketer.

While talking to ABP News, he said, “Sometimes I am at loss of words on how to describe his knock. When we see Sachin Tendulkar, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, we feel someday there will be a player who will compel us to think he is also part of that list. There is indeed a lot of talent in India. And the kind of cricket he plays, that lap shot the one over fine leg, then that leaves the bowler frightened because he can stand and hit a six over mid-on and mid-wicket. That is what makes it difficult for the bowlers because he is able to pick the line and length consistently. I have seen great batters like De Villiers, Vivian Richards, Sachin, Virat, and Ricky Ponting, but very few can hit the ball as cleanly as him. Hats off to Suryakumar Yadav. These kind of players come only once in a century”.


Surya played a terrific knock of 112 runs in just 51 balls against Sri Lanka in the third and final T20I match of the series at the Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Rajkot. The Mumbai-based batter helped India score  228 for the loss of five wickets.

The Men in blue will now be playing against Sri Lanka in a  three-match ODI series, starting from January 10.


India’s ODI squad: Rohit Sharma (C), Hardik Pandya (VC), Virat Kohli, Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (WK), Ishan Kishan (WK), Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umran Malik, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah.

Sri Lanka’s ODI squad: Pathum Nissanka, Avishka Fernando, Ashen Bandara, Nuwanidu Fernando, Dasun Shanaka (c), Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Chamika Karunaratne, Wanindu Hasaranga, Kusal Mendis (wk), Sadeera Samarawickrama, Maheesh Theekshana, Kasun Rajitha, Dilshan Madushanka, Dunith Wellalage, Lahiru Kumara, Jeffrey Vandersay, Pramod Madushan.

#Century #Batter



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here