Prithvi Shaw Breaks Record Of Gavaskar, Manjrekar, Smashes Triple-Century In Ranji Trophy


The Mumbai-based batter Prithvi Shaw scored a terrific triple-century during an ongoing Ranji Trophy match against  Assam on Wednesday. He smashed 379 off just 383 deliveries in Guwahati, including 49 fours and four sixes. Shaw recorded the second-highest individual score in the history of the Ranji Trophy. Maharashtra’s Bhausaheb Babasaheb Nimbalkar holds the record with an unbeaten 443 in the 1948/49 season. Shaw was sent to the pavilion by Riyan Parag on Day 2 of the match.

The right-hand explosive opener also became the highest run scorer by breaking Sanjay Manjrekar’s record of 377 against Hyderabad in a single inning.

List of highest run-scorers in the Ranji Trophy in a single inning:

  • BB Nimbalkar (Maharashtra) – 443* vs Saurashtra
  • Prithvi Shaw (Mumbai) – 379 vs Assam
  • Sanjay Manjrekar (Bombay) – 377 vs Hyderabad
  • MV Sridhar (Hyderabad) – 366 vs Andhra Pradesh

List of highest run-scorers in a single inning from Mumbai:

news reels

  • Prithvi Shaw – 379 vs Assam
  • Sanjay Manjrekar (Bombay) – 377 vs Hyderabad
  • Vijay Merchant – 359* vs Maharashtra
  • Sunil Gavaskar – 340 vs Bengal

Earlier, former India cricketer Gautam Gambhir backed Shaw and requested coaches and selectors to help him and keep him on their list.


“Someone like Prithvi Shaw, the kind of start he had to his international career and the kind of talent he has, you back a player on talent. Yes, you have to look at the upbringing as well – where he comes from and the challenges he’s had as well. It makes even more sense for the management and the selectors to keep him around the mix, and help him get on the right track,” said Gautam Gambhir said.


Mumbai: Prithvi Shaw, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Armaan Jaffer, Ajinkya Rahane(c), Sarfaraz Khan, Hardik Tamore(w), Shams Mulani, Tanush Kotian, Tushar Deshpande, Mohit Avasthi, Siddharth Raut, Shashank Attarde, Suved Parkar, Musheer Khan, Prasad Pawar, Suryansh Shedge, Royston Dias.

Assam: Kunal Saikia(w/c), Rahul Hazarika, Rishav Das, Riyan Parag, Sibsankar Roy, Gokul Sharma, Swarupam Purkayastha, Akash Sengupta, Mukhtar Hussain, Avinov Choudhury, Sunil Lachit, Subham Mandal, Sidharth Sarmah, Abhishek Thakuri, Mrinmoy Dutta, Ranjit Mali.

#Prithvi #Shaw #Breaks #Record #Gavaskar #Manjrekar #Smashes #TripleCentury #Ranji #Trophy



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here