Sri Lanka Elect To Bowl First In Guwahati


Even though Sri Lanka may still be far from the world beating force they used to be in the ODI format, they have showed signs of improvement from what they were a few years ago. With a 60% winning rate in 2022 in their completed 50-over fixtures, the Men from the Island Nation would want to draw inspiration and put up an improved show this year.

It is pertinent to note though that their improved ODI win percentage last year also includes wins over Zimbabwe and Afghanistan. However, to their credit, they beat Australia on home soil and could be described as a side with the potential but lacking consistency against top-sides, something they would like to work upon in this series.

India, on the other hand, have lots of what one calls “good headaches.” How to slot in Suryakumar Yadav in the Playing 11 will be one of them especially after his stupendous run in the T20Is format. But will it be just to leave out 2022’s leading run-getter for India in ODIs- Shreyas Iyer- to get him into the side?


Similarly, who will be the three fast bowlers who will get a nod for this match will Umran Malik get a game or will Arshdeep Singh find a place in the 11 or who knows the captain could even give a spin-bowling all-rounder Washington Sundar a go. These are the questions that Team India would have to answer before they take the field on Tuesday.

All in all, while the Men in Blue look like the favourites on paper, the 1996 ODI World Champions too have the ability to stun any opposition on a given day.


India: Rohit Sharma (captain), KL Rahul (wicketkeeper), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Hardik Pandya, Washington Sundar, Mohammed Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Ishan Kishan, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik

Sri Lanka: Kusal Mendis (wicketkeeper), Dasun Shanaka (captain), Pathum Nissanka, Avishka Fernando, Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Maheesh Theekshana, Dilshan Madushanka, Lahiru Kumara, Ashen Bandara, Nuwanidu Fernando, Pramod Madushan, Dunith Wellalage, Kasun Rajitha, Jeffrey Vandersay, Sadeera Samarawickrama

#Sri #Lanka #Elect #Bowl #Guwahati



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here